Annual Celebration 2012

Aarhus University was officially opened on 11 September 1928 and holds an annual celebration to commemorate its founding. Working partners from both the public and private sectors are invited to attend the celebration, along with key political figures and those who have helped us in different ways throughout the past years – both in-house and out-of-house.

The annual celebration 2012 will be held on 14 September
During the afternoon, the day will be celebrated with speeches, research lectures, musical entertainment, conferral of honorary doctorates and presentations of awards and scholarships in the Main Hall in Nordre Ringgade. Due to limited seating, the afternoon event is for invited guests only, but it will be streamed live on AU’s website, so everyone has an opportunity to follow the proceedings.

You can follow the streaming of the afternoon event on the day itself via a link from this page.

On the same day, the students will hold their Sports Day and Denmark’s largest Friday night bar in the University Park, featuring bars with special themes, events and concerts.

The festivities will continue in the evening at the Concert Hall Aarhus, starting with a concert featuring Bobo Moreno, Ida Corr, Mike Andersen, Andrea Pellegrini, Anders Blichfeldt, Niels HP and Veronica Mortensen. The concert will be conducted by Peter Vuust and Per Christian Frost. The master of ceremonies for the evening is Niels Olsen. Following the entertainment, all guests are invited to a buffet.

See combined programme for the annual celebration 2012

Read presentations of the four honorary doctors

Se video presentations of the four honorary doctors

Other awards

Pictures from the annual celebration