AU Management

The Board

The Board is Aarhus University’s highest authority, and its mandate is to promote the university’s interests as an institution of research and education. The Board determines the framework for the university's organisation and sets long-term goals for its activities and development.

The senior management team

The senior management team is responsible for the day-to-day management of the university within the framework set by the Board. The Deans of the four main areas and the officers of The Rector´s Office constitute the senior management team. The senior management team is serviced by Rector's Office. 

Every week, the senior management team sends out a newsletter to all staff members with current activities and discussions. 

Vice-deans, department heads and directors of studies

In addition to the senior management team, the executive management of Aarhus University consists of the vice-deans, the department heads and the directors of studies, all of whom perform their duties and responsibilities by authority of the Rector.


The university’s core activities – research, talent development, consultancy and education- are carried out by the departments, sections, centres and other units of the four faculties.

The Administration

The Administration serves the Board, the senior management team, the faculties, appointed committees and other decision-making bodies. The Administration is managed by the university director in cooperation with the five deputy directors and the four administrative centre managers.