Choosing courses

Please carefully read the instructions below before selecting courses and filling in the study plan in the online application form. Students applying at Business Administration, Business Communication or Economics and Business will receive directions on how to choose courses separately after admission to Aarhus University. 


When choosing courses it is important to respect the following rules:

  1. You choose one campus.
  2. You choose one faculty.
  3. You choose one or (maximum) two departments (but always within the same faculty).
  4. You choose 30 ECTS points per semester as follows:
  • 30 ECTS points per semester at one department OR
  • 20 ECTS points per semester at one department and 10 ECTS points at another department (but always within the same faculty)

If you have not chosen courses that are appropriate and/or fit your academic profile, you will be asked to choose new courses and re-submit your application. This will delay your application process and you might not be able to submit the application before the deadline. Consequently, your application may be rejected.

Students admitted to Aarhus BSS must choose courses at one department only. Students admitted to Business/Economics/Communication will receive specific instructions upon admission. Information is also available on the relevant course webpage

Students admitted to the Department of Engineering (MSc) at Science and Technology must choose courses of minimum 20 ECTS within one Master Engineering degree programme.


As part of your online application for exchange with Aarhus University, you must create a study plan.

The study plan must consist of 30 ECTS per semester. For students applying for a full academic year of exchange, this means that you should select courses totalling 30 ECTS for your first semester and 30 ECTS for your second semester.   

When you find relevant courses for your academic profile, please make sure that you list them correctly in the application form.

If the course catalogue does not show courses for your semester, please select courses from a previous, but similar semester (eg. for Autumn 2018, search for courses offered in Autumn 2017)

When choosing courses, there are six mandatory (*) fields that you must fill in regarding your study plan at AU:

  1. “Exchange programme”: Please choose the relevant program for your exchange: “Erasmus”, “Bilateral Agreement”, “Cultural Agreement”, “Nordplus” or “Nordlys”.
  2. “Area of Study”: Please choose the study area where you will take 30 ECTS per semester; either 30 ECTS from one department or 20 ECTS from one department and 10 ECTS from another department, but always within the same faculty.
  3. “Study Period”: Please choose the appropriate study period. Make sure that the selected courses are listed in the course catalogue with the relevant study period for your exchange to AU.
  4. “Course title”: Please write the full title of the course as listed in the course catalogue. Make sure the chosen course respects the rules outlined to the left.
  5. “Department”: Please choose the department where the course is offered.
  6. "ECTS": Please enter the number of ECTS points of the course as listed in the course catalogue.