International Networks

Coimbra group

Founded in 1985 and formally constituted by Charter in 1987, the Coimbra Group is an association of long-established European multidisciplinary universities of high international standard. The Coimbra Group is committed to creating special academic and cultural ties in order to promote, for the benefit of its members, internationalisation, academic collaboration, excellence in learning and research, and service to society. It is also the purpose of the Group to influence European educational policy and to develop best practice through mutual exchange of experience.

Coimbra Group universities are among our top partners when it comes to incoming and outgoing student mobility at Aarhus University. In addition to this Aarhus University is currently involved in an Erasmus Mundus External Cooperation Window project with 10 other fellow Coimbra partners. The project involves student, staff and researcher mobility to and from Latin American Universities. The University also participates in the Coimbra Group Scholarship Programme for Young African Researchers and Scholarship Programme for Young Professors and Researchers from Latin American Universities, which have enjoyed considerable popularity among the target groups.

Scholarship Programmes

See current calls for the Coimbra Group Scholarship programmes: 

Utrecht Network

The Utrecht Network is a representative European-wide network of universities cooperating in the area of internationalisation. The group is particularly committed to such areas as student and staff mobility, summer schools, the internationalisation of curricula, joint curricula and double/joint degrees. 

The Utrecht Network represents 31 European universities in 28 countries, co-operating in the area of internationalisation in the broadest sense of the word.

European University Association (EUA)

The European University Association (EUA) represents and supports higher education institutions in 46 countries.  Members of the Association are European universities involved in teaching and research, national associations of rectors and other organizations active in higher education and research.

EUA provides members with a forum to cooperate and keep abreast of the latest trends in higher education and research policies. The Association’s mandate in the Bologna process, contribution to EU research policy-making and relations with intergovernmental organizations, European institutions and international associations, ensure its capacity to debate issues which are crucial for universities in relation to higher education, research and innovation.

2011 EUA Annual Conference

Around 450 university leaders and other higher education stakeholders gathered at Aarhus University in the middle of April 2011 for the annual EUA conference.


Euroscience is a grassroots organization for researchers, science administrators, policymakers and individuals with an interest in higher education, science and technology. Euroscience represents all European scientists of all disciplines as well as universities, research institutions and business members from the knowledge industry.

Euroscience is working to strengthen ties between science and society and to provide an open forum for debates on higher education, science and technology policies in Europe. The organization is active in European research policy discussion and is working to ensure that its members play an active role in the shaping of EU policies regarding the development of the European Research Area.

Euroscience organise international meetings and events – best known is the biennial Euroscience Open Forum (ESOF) – and publish position papers on topics within the area of research and higher education.


Columbus is a non-profit association, founded by the European University Association (EUA) and the Association of Latin American Universities (AULA). The Association includes 53 member universities -33 Latin American universities and 20 European universities.