AU concludes important exchange agreement with the University of California system

AU has just finalised a student exchange agreement with the University of California (UC) system. Starting in 2019, 12 AU students each year will have the chance to study at one of nine UC campuses in California.

2018.05.09 | Sarah Gram

University of California - Berkeley (or just Cal). one of nine UC campuses in California. Photo: Colourbox

UC’s campuses include prestigious educational institutions such as UC Berkeley, UC Davis and UCLA. Under the new agreement, students from the UC system – some of the best in the United States – will also come to study at AU.

The exchange agreement between AU and UC was realised in close collaboration with Innovationsattaché Jeppe Dørup Olesen from Innovation Centre Denmark i Silicon Valley.

The agreement will initially cover a five-year period, and the first students will be able to go on exchange in 2019-20. The number of exchange places may be increased during the five-year period.

The UC system includes a number of international top educational institutions which are termed ‘Public Ivy’ in the US, a term which refers to a small group of public universities which offer the same high academic quality and student life as the private Ivy League institutions.

The high academic standard will not only benefit the exchange students from AU, but also AU as a whole, because Aarhus will become the destination for some of the best American students. This will promote academic excellence and an international environment on the individual degree programmes at Aarhus University.

The agreement applies to the following UC campuses:

  • UC Berkeley (THE 18)
  • UC Davis (THE 54)
  • UC Irvine (THE 99)
  • UCLA (THE 15)
  • UC Merced (THE N/A)
  • UC Riverside (THE 198)
  • UC San Diego (THE 31)
  • UC Santa Barbara (THE 53)
  • UC Santa Cruz (THE 162)