Elite researchers rewarded by Ministry of Science, Technology and Innovation

Press releases 2011

Two researchers from Aarhus University are among this year’s five winners of the Elite Researcher Prize awarded by the Ministry of Science, Technology and Innovation.

Professor Bo Brummerstedt Iversen, iNANO, and Professor Søren Riis Paludan, Department of Medical Microbiology, received a well-deserved tribute when winners of this year’s Elite Researcher Prizes were called on stage at the Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek art museum. The two professors have both made major contributions to strengthening Danish research efforts in the fields of science and health sciences, respectively, and they were rewarded by Charlotte Sahl-Madsen, Denmark’s Minister for Science, Technology and Innovation, with DKK 1.2 million each.

Grants to young research talents

In addition to the prizes awarded to the two established researchers, EliteForsk travelling scholarships amounting to DKK 300,000 each were awarded to four talented young researchers at Aarhus University. The four PhD students are Naia Morueta-Holme (Department of Biological Sciences), Kasper Green Larsen (Department of Computer Science), Jonas Lerche Hansen (Interdisciplinary Nanoscience Centre – iNANO), and Line Gebauer (Centre of Functionally Integrative Neuroscience – CFIN). The grants will provide these four research talents with an opportunity to attend international research conferences and strengthen their contact with colleagues abroad.

At the prize-giving ceremony, the Minister for Science, Technology and Innovation also gave official recognition to the twenty-eight researchers at Aarhus University who received grants in December 2010 from the Sapere Aude (Dare to know) research career programme launched by the Danish Council for Independent Research (DFF).

Ministry of Science, Technology and Innovation’s portraits of the winning researchers and PhD students (in Danish only)

More information

Media Consultant Sys Christina Vestergaard, +45 2367 0012