Nobel Prizes at AU

Several researchers at AU have received the Nobel Prize.

Find more information on these pages

Nobel Prize in Chemistry

Foto: Scanpix

In 1997, Aarhus University had its first Nobel Prize winner. The prize was awarded to the retired Jens Chr. Skou, professor, DMSc, for his description of the sodium-potassium pump. 

The sodium-potassium pump is a small, but vital mechanism located in all the cells in the body. By pumping sodium ions out of the cell, the pump maintains a salt balance which is necessary for muscles and nerves to function.

Jens Chr. Skou did not receive the Nobel Prize until 40 years after describing the sodium-potassium pump, but his research findings quickly attracted international attention. Today, research is still being conducted into ion pumps at the PUMPkin basic research centre.

Read more about Professor Jens Chr. Skou and the awarding of the Nobel Prize in Chemistry

Find more information on the Nobel Prize website

Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences

Foto: Scanpix

On 11 October 2010, the world press reported that the Niels Bohr Professor Dale T. Mortensen (2 February 1939–9 January 2014) would be awarded the Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences together with Christopher A. Pissarides and Peter A. Diamond.

The three economists were honoured for their labour market research and for developing models explaining the relationship between unemployment, job vacancies and salaries, and how these relationships are influenced by regulation and economic policy in general.

One conclusion made by the trio is that more generous unemployment benefits lead to higher unemployment and longer periods of searching for a new job.

Read more about Professor Dale T. Mortensen and the awarding of the Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences

Find more information on the Nobel Prize website