Non-recipient countries

Europe is defined as EU/EEA countries and Switzerland as well as territories in Europe, who are not members of the European Union/EEA. The overseas territories of EU/EEA countries are in this context not defined as part of Europe.

People coming directly from the following countries cannot receive microfunding:

  • Austria, Alderney (Channel island) (UK), Andorra, Azores (P), Åland Islands (FIN)
  • Balearic Islands (Mallorca, Ibiza) (E), Belgium, Bulgaria
  • Cyprus, Czech Republic, The Canary Islands (ES)
  • Denmark (including the North Sea1)
  • Estonia
  • Faroe Islands (DK), Finland, France
  • Germany, Gibraltar (UK), Greece, Greenland (DK), Guernsey (Channel island) (UK)  
  • Hungary, The Hebrides (UK)
  • Iceland, Ireland, Isle of Man (UK), Isle of Wight (UK), Italy
  • Jersey
  • Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg
  • Madeira (PT), Malta, Monaco
  • Netherlands (including the North Sea*), Norway (minus the North Sea*)
  • Poland, Portugal
  • Romania
  • San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland
  • The Canary Islands (ES), The Faroe Islands (DK), The Hebrides (UK)
  • UK and Northern Ireland (minus the North Sea*)
  • Vatican City
  • Åland Islands (FIN)

*The North Sea is defined as the continental shelf belonging to the country in question (e.g. oil drillings).