Modtagere af Aarhus Universitets Jubilæumsfonds Forskningsformidlingspris & Pædagogiske Hæderspris


The Aarhus University Anniversary Foundation’s Prize of Honour for Pedagogics of DKK 100,000 is awarded in recognition of outstanding and ground-breaking teaching at Aarhus University.


Lone Kofoed Hansen, an associate professor affiliated with the Digital Design Programme at the Department of Aesthetics and Communication, Aarhus University, is at once a strong and creative teacher and an outstanding team player and leader. She has been awarded the prize in recognition of her innovative teaching, her unique research, and her exceptional ability to combine the two fields.

Associate Professor Hansen was one of the driving forces behind the development of the innovative Digital Design Degree Programme, a humanities programme that combines IT, design and aesthetics. The programme, which operates in the interface between praxis and reflection on praxis, is contributing to the development of entirely new, socially relevant competencies in the digital public sphere. The dimension of social relevance is closely integrated into Dr Hansen’s teaching: she constantly challenges her students with examples from the society and culture we live in.

In her PhD dissertation re:configuring interface culture: digital aesthetics in the age of pervasive computing, Associate Professor Hansen explores IT and aesthetics. Her work has contributed to the development of a specifically humanistic platform for the advancement of IT research, both in Denmark and internationally. Her research has had a significant influence on both the content of her courses and her own teaching practice.

Dr Hansen’s teaching is not only praxis-oriented and research-based; her courses are in fact research-like. Learning from Dr Hansen takes the form of a research project: her students are directly involved in research projects where they engage in both empirical observations and theoretical reflection. Associate Professor Hansen’s teaching thus lives up to the ideal of research- based teaching, whereby students – already at Bachelor’s level – learn to independently acquire, process, analyse and produce original knowledge.

Associate Professor Hansen constantly seeks to improve her pedagogical qualifications. She has
presented her teaching experiences in a number of articles for the benefit of colleagues and other individuals with an interest in the field. In doing so, she has helped to sharpen focus on the field of university teaching development.

Associate Professor, Department of Aesthetics and Communication – Digital Design, Aarhus University

Education and appointments

  • 2012- Associate Professor, Department of Aesthetics and Communication, Aarhus University
  • 2009-2012 Assistant Professor, Department of Aesthetic Studies, Aarhus University
  • 2009 PhD degree, Department of Aesthetic Studies, Aarhus University
  • 2002 MA in Multimedia, Department of Information and Media Studies, Aarhus University

Other activities

  • Part of the interdisciplinary Participatory Information Technology (PIT) Centre
  • Communications Chair of Media Architecture Biennale 2012 and 2014, both held in Aarhus


The Aarhus University Anniversary Foundation’s Research Communication Prize of DKK 100,000 is awarded in recognition of outstanding and ground-breaking communication of knowledge from the university to society.


Dr Tobias Wang, a professor of zoophysiology, is not only an extremely accomplished researcher; time and time again, he has demonstrated a rare talent for making his research and knowledge comprehensible and useful to others. This is precisely why he has been awarded the Aarhus University Anniversary Foundation’s Research Communication Prize, which is awarded to a researcher who has made particularly great efforts to communicate his or her research.

Professor Wang is particularly well-known for his research on the circulatory systems of animals, where he has made his mark with studies of blood pressure regulation in giraffes and the circulatory system of snakes. His research spans a number of disciplines in the natural sciences and medicine, and it contributes to our understanding of fundamental physiological mechanisms. The study of animal physiology provides important new knowledge that can be applied to humans and can help
medical science understand human diseases and develop new treatment methods.

Professor Wang excels at involving the lay audience without compromising high academic standards. He communicates complex physiological research in a lively, entertaining and relevant way. Professor Wang’s research often receives coverage in newspapers and magazines, and he is an exemplary communicator on TV and radio.

For this reason, he is often in demand by the media as a scientific commentator and expert: not only in Denmark, but also abroad, where his activities include radio programmes in countries including Brazil and Vietnam, as well as appearances on Swedish and British TV.

With his special way of communicating, Professor Wang has the ability to increase the public’s understanding of the importance of research for society. His research communication activities increase our ability to understand the world scientifically, at the same time as they increase our understanding of why science is of such great significance to society.

The hallmark of his communication is his will to involve his audience, readers and listeners and to enter into dialogue with them. Professor Wang gets people interested in science and breaks down the barrier between the world of research and the general public. He brings science down to eye level for ordinary citizens, and he is the perfect ambassador for Aarhus University’s ambition of engaging in dialogue with society.

Professor, Department of Bioscience – Zoophysiology, Aarhus University


  • 2005- Professor, Aarhus University, Denmark
  • 2000-2004 Associate Professor, Aarhus University, Denmark
  • 1998-2000 Lecturer, University of Birmingham, UK
  • 1997 Assistant Research Professor, Aarhus University, Denmark


  • 2012 Elected to the Royal Danish Academy of Sciences and Letters
  • 2004 Honorary Professor, School of Biological Sciences, University of Birmingham, UK
  • 2003 Elected as a member of the Danish Academy of Natural Sciences
  • 1999 President’s Medal from the Society for Experimental Biology